NRW Car 1.0

nachoben

The idea | The vision  | The task | The team

THE IDEA

DesignStudio NRW create new, intermodal vehicle concepts

The first phase of the project was financed with start-up funding from the ministry of economics NRW in 2013. This made possible the creation of a draft in the form of a 3D model of the vehicle, a 1:5 scale model, animations of the in- and exterior, a driving simulation within a virtual, future version of the Ruhr area, as well as the visualization of mobility behavior in urban environments in 2030. During the week long Car Clinic in November 2013 selected individuals from a group of target customers, were presented the draft, driving simulation and visualizations of urban environments, along with current electronic cars from the same vehicle class in a test studio. To arouse interest in, and inform about the project research findings were presented during the Car Clinics opening event. Prior to this, interviews on a wide variety of topics were held at the DesignStudio NRW. Questions regarding the design, the interior and features of vehicles and new traffic concepts were asked in order to gain a better understanding of market opportunities and the willingness of consumers to buy such cars, as well as their expectations of designs, materials and the perception of quality.

The basis for the development of the NRWCar was a specifications sheet, which lead to a greater common understanding of the project within the team, while also defining the design parameters. Experiences in the automobile industry have shown that a consolidation of the individual findings of each project partner is necessary for this. In line with the idea of frontloading, the goal is to simplify the pre-development phase and design process, so as to specify the properties of a product or part as early as possible.


The vision

In the volume segment of the German automobile market, vehicles which run solely on electric batteries generate jobs and secure economic value.

The NRWCar focuses on the discrepancy between supply and demand in the (volume) segment of electric vehicles. Market research has clearly shown that while many buyers would like to buy an electronic vehicle, few accept shortcomings such as low reach and most refuse to pay a higher price. Currently, German manufacturers are offering, on the one hand, either newly developed premium vehicles in the compact class (C-segment) with prices around 35,000 Euro (e.g.: the BMW i3, which customers in the volume segment will not buy), and mini-cars (e.g.: the VW E-up) in the mini-car segment (A-segment) at the price of circa 27,000 Euro, which are being offered only sparingly, as they pose the risk of losses for suppliers.

Therefore, what is missing are economically attractive electric vehicles in the small car segment (B-segment) and the compact class (C-segment), that cater to prices volume market customers are prepared to pay. These are necessities for the production of vehicles and parts in NRW and Germany and also to secure economic value and employment. Barely any jobs or value would result from a small-batch production of electronic vehicles in the top and luxury class in Germany and NRW.

For this reason the NRWCar was designed to be attractive for volume sector customers, rather than a few avantgarde and financially sound buyers. The project team takes into account, the evolved social and technical framework of the year 2030. Changed mobility patterns and the consequences of climate change will influence the city environment. New networks, new steering systems, technical innovations and new services will save time in private transport, work and leisure time, and during activities such as shopping or finding a car park.

The NRWCar has become a purely battery operated electronic vehicle, since all experts from Europe, USA and East Asia (Japan, China and South Korea) questioned during an EU-project in 2012 anticipate the breakthrough of such cars after 2030, even in the volume segment. Whereas, an NRWCar for the year 2020 would have been a hybrid vehicle in the mini-car, or top class sector.

The project team has designed the first solely battery operated vehicle which could secure added economical value and jobs.


 

THE TASK

aufgabe

The following work packages were processed respective to a real product development process, and in close dialogue with all project participants.

  1. Gathering of customer requirements for electronic vehicles through the chair of „International Automotive Management“, University Duisburg-Essen.
    • Quantitative analysis of customer groups
    • Quantitative analysis through focus group analysis
    • Field trial and testing of the NRWCar at DesignStudio NRW for the acquisition of customer reactions
  2. Assessment of reservations (barriers to purchasing) of the target customers by the chair of „General Psychology: Cognition “,University Duisburg-Essen.
    • Qualitative and quantities studies of the expectations and reservations of the target customers regarding electronic vehicles
    • Field trial and testing of the NRWCar at DesignStudio NRW for the acquisition of customer reactions
  3. Assessment and development of additional technical services for electronic vehicles by the “Chair of Mechatronics“, University Duisburg-Essen.
    • Framework for the NRWCars vehicle package and technical interpretation of the vehicle
    • Simulation of the drive through the urban environment 2030 using the driving simulator (kindly supported by FORD)
  4. Design and visualisation of the urban environment 2030 by the „ Institute for Urban Planning & Development “, University Duisburg-Essen
    • Design of the drive with the simulator through the city of the future
    • Visualisation of the urban environment 2030 in the form of a video and chart for data gathering at the Car Clinic
    • Concept and draft for the exhibition and guidance system at the Car Clinic
  5. Design and visualisation of the NRWCar by the team „Strategy & Vision // Society in Motion“, Folkwang University of the Arts
    • Concept, draft and digital conversion of the NRWCar
    • Building of the 1:5 scale model (made possible by FORD)
    • Concept and draft for the exhibition and guidance system at the Car Clinic
    • Communications strategies

 

THE PROJECT TEAM

University Duisburg-Essen

Chair of General Business Administration and International Automotive Management

gruppe_proff_halb

Prof. Dr. Heike Proff // Nicole Schleiffer, M.Sc. // Dipl. Bw. (Univ.) Thomas Martin Fojcik, M.A. // Stefan Schwarz, LL.M.

University Duisburg-Essen

General Psychology: Cognition

 

Prof. Dr. Matthias Brand // Laura Bottel, B.Sc. // Silke Müller, B.Sc.

 

University Duisburg-Essen

Chair of Mechatronics

Prof. Dr. Ing. Dieter Schramm // Dr. Ing. Benjamin Hesse // Dipl. Ing. Martin Koppers // Dipl. Wirt. Inf. Hendrik Völker

 

University Duisburg-Essen

Institute for Urban Planning & Development

Prof. Dr. Ing. J. Alexander Schmidt // Dipl. Ing. Sonja Hellali Milani // Dipl. Ing. Daniel Bläser

 

Folkwang University of the Arts

Faculty of Design
Strategy & Vision // Society in Motion

gruppe_mehnert_halb

Prof. Kurt Mehnert // Prof. (stv.) Carolin Schreiber // Dipl. Des. Nina Pillen // Jannes Weber, B.A.

 

Ford Werke GmbH

Team-Ford

Caspar Dirk Hohage (n.a.) // Dr. Roland Krüger (n.a.) // Bruno Alves (Rapid Prototyping Specialist) // Bernd Peter (5-axis NC Team Lead) // Ralph Wessels (Design IT) // Harry Blindert-Gritto (Design Fabrication) // Jörg Schäfer (Design Services Manager)

NRW Car 1.0

nachoben

 

Die Idee

Im DesignStudio NRW werden neue intermodale Fahrzeugkonzepte entworfen.

In der ersten Phase 2013 wurde mit einer Anschubfinanzierung durch das Wirtschaftsministerium NRW ein automobiler Designentwurf in Form eines 3D Modells, Animationen des In- und Exterieurs, 1:5 Maßstabmodell, eine Fahrsimulation in einer virtuellen künftigen Ruhrgebietsumgebung und eine Visualisierung des Mobilitätsverhaltens in Städten 2030 entwickelt. Designentwurf, Fahrsimulation und Visualisierungen der Stadtumgebung wurden ausgewählten Personen der Zielkundengruppen zusammen mit heutigen Elektrofahrzeugen derselben Fahrzeugklasse im Teststudio, der einwöchigen Car Clinic, im November 2013 präsentiert. Bei der Auftaktveranstaltung zur Car Clinic wurden die Forschungsergebnisse vorgestellt, um über das Projekt zu informieren. Im DesignStudio NRW wurden zuvor breit angelegte Interviews geführt. Fragen zum Design und zur Ausstattung von Fahrzeugen, zum Fahrzeuginnenraum und zu neuen Verkehrskonzepten wurden gestellt, um mehr über Marktchancen und Kaufwahrscheinlichkeit der Elektrofahrzeuge und über Ansprüche an Design, Material und Qualitätsanmutung zu erfahren.

Grundlage der Entwicklung des NRWCars war ein Lastenheft, mit dem ein gemeinsames Verständnis aller Beteiligten für das zu entwickelnde Elektrofahrzeug geschaffen wurde und das den Gestaltungsrahmen definiert. Erfahrungen in der Automobilindustrie zeigen, dass dazu eine Verdichtung der detaillierten Einzelergebnisse der Projektpartner notwendig ist. Im Sinne eines „Frontloadings“, d.h. des Ziels, die Eigenschaften eines Produktes oder Bauteils so früh wie möglich für die Entwicklung zu definieren, sollte der Vorentwicklungs- und Designprozess vereinfacht werden.


Die Vision

Rein batterieelektrische Fahrzeuge für das Volumensegment des deutschen Automobilmarktes sichern Arbeitsplätze und Wertschöpfung

Das NRWCar zielt ab auf die Diskrepanz zwischen Angebot und Nachfrage im (Volumen-)Markt von Elektrofahrzeugen. Marktuntersuchungen haben klar gezeigt, dass viele Autokäufer durchaus ein Elektrofahrzeug kaufen würden, jedoch nur bedingt die Unzulänglichkeiten wie die geringe Reichweite in Kauf nehmen und keinen höheren Aufpreis zahlen werden. Das Angebot deutscher Hersteller besteht gegenwärtig einerseits aus neu entwickelten Premiumfahrzeugen in der Kompaktklasse, dem C-Segment, mit Preisen um 35.000 Euro (wie z.B. der BMW i3, den Kunden des Volumenmarktes nicht kaufen werden) und andererseits aus Kleinstwagen (wie z.B. der VW E-up) im Kleinstwagensegment (A-Segment), die bei einem Preis von etwa 27.000 Euro für die Anbieter voraussichtlich Verluste bringen und deshalb nur zögerlich angeboten werden.

Somit fehlen wirtschaftlich attraktive Elektrofahrzeuge in den Segmenten der Kleinwagen (B-Segment) und der Kompaktklasse (C-Segment), die der Preisbereitschaft der Kunden im Volumenmarkt entsprechen. Sie sind Voraussetzungen, um Fahrzeuge und Teile in NRW und Deutschland herzustellen und damit die hohe Wertschöpfung und Beschäftigung zu sichern. Bei einer Kleinserienfertigung von Elektrofahrzeugen der Ober- und Luxusklasse würden in Deutschland und NRW kaum noch Arbeitsplätze und Wertschöpfung bleiben.

Deshalb wurde mit dem NRWCar ein Fahrzeug entworfen, das für Kunden im Volumensegment – und nicht nur für wenige avantgardistische und sehr finanzstarke Käufer – attraktiv ist. Das Projektteam berücksichtigt die veränderten gesellschaftlichen und technischen Rahmenbedingungen für das Jahr 2030.
Veränderte Mobilitätsgewohnheiten und die Folgen des Klimawandels werden die Stadtumgebung beeinflussen. Neue Vernetzungen, neue Steuerungssysteme, technische Innovationen und neue Dienstleistungen werden zukünftig im Individualverkehr, wie im Beruf und in der Freizeit, Zeitersparnisse z.B. bei Einkauf und bei der Parkplatzsuche bringen.

Das NRWCar ist ein rein batterieelektrisches Fahrzeug geworden, da z.B. alle im Rahmen eines EU-Projektes 2012 befragten Experten in Europa, den USA und Ost-Asien (Japan, China und Südkorea) den Durchbruch dieser Fahrzeuge nach 2030, auch im Volumensegment, erwarten.
Ein NRWCar für das Jahr 2020 wäre hingegen ein Hybridfahrzeug im Kleinst- oder Oberklassesegment geworden.

Das Projektteam entwarf das erste rein batterieelektrische Fahrzeug für Volumensegmente des deutschen Automobilmarktes, das Arbeitsplätze und Wertschöpfung sichern könnte.


Die Aufgabe

 

aufgabeFolgende Arbeitspakete wurden entsprechend eines realen Produktentwicklungsprozesses im intensiven Austausch aller Projektbeteiligten bearbeitet.

  1. Erfassung der Kundenanforderungen an Elektrofahrzeuge durch den Lehrstuhl für „Internationales Automobilmanagement“, Uni Duisburg – Essen
    • Quantitative Analyse der Kundengruppen
    • Qualitative Analyse durch Fokusgruppengespräche
    • Erprobung und Test des NRWCars im DesignStudio NRW  zur Erfassung der Kundenreaktionen
  2. Erfassung der Vorbehalte (Kaufbarrieren) der Zielkunden durch den Lehrstuhl für „Allgemeine Psychologie – Kognition“, Uni Duisburg – Essen
    • Qualitative und quantitative Untersuchung der Erwartungen und Vorbehalte der Zielkunden gegenüber Elektrofahrzeugen
    • Erprobung und Test des NRWCars im DesignStudio NRW  zur Erfassung der Kundenreaktionen
  3. Prüfung und Erarbeitung technischer Zusatzleistungen  von Elektrofahrzeugen durch den Lehrstuhl für „Mechatronik“, Uni Duisburg – Essen
    • Rahmenbedingungen für das Vehicle Package des NRWCars und technische Auslegung des Fahrzeugs
    • Simulation der Fahrt durch die Stadtumgebung 2030 mit Hilfe des konzipierten Fahrsimulators (mit freundlicher Unterstützung von FORD)
  4. Gestaltung und Visualisierung der Stadtumgebung 2030 durch das „Institut für Stadtplanung und Städtebau“, Uni Duisburg – Essen
    • Gestaltung der Fahrt im Simulator durch die Stadt der Zukunft
    • Visualisierung der Stadtumgebung 2030 in Form eines Videos und Charts zur Datenerhebung auf der Car Clinic
    • Konzept und Entwurf des Ausstellungs- und Leitsystems der Car Clinic
  5. Gestaltung und Visualisierung des NRWCars durch das Team „Strategie & Vision / Gesellschaft in Bewegung“, Folkwang Universität der Künste
    • Konzept, Entwurf und analoge sowie digitale Umsetzung des NRWCars
    • Modellbau des 1:5 Maßstabmodells (durch FORD ermöglicht)
    • Konzept und Entwurf des Ausstellungs- und Leitsystems auf Car Clinic
    • Kommunikationsstrategien

Das Projektteam

 

Universität Duisburg – Essen

Lehrstuhl für ABWL & Internationales Automobilmanagement

gruppe_proff_halb

Prof. Dr. Heike Proff // Nicole Schleiffer, M.Sc. // Dipl. Bw. (Univ.) Thomas Martin Fojcik, M.A. // Stefan Schwarz, LL.M.

 

Universität Duisburg – Essen

Lehrstuhl für Allgemeine Psychologie — Kognition

Prof. Dr. Matthias Brand // Laura Bottel, B.Sc. // Silke Müller, B.Sc.

 

Universität Duisburg – Essen

Lehrstuhl für Mechatronik

Prof. Dr. Ing. Dieter Schramm // Dr. Ing. Benjamin Hesse // Dipl. Ing. Martin Koppers // Dipl. Wirt. Inf. Hendrik Völker

 

Universität Duisburg – Essen

Institut für Stadtplanung & Städtebau

Prof. Dr. Ing. J. Alexander Schmidt // Dipl. Ing. Sonja Hellali Milani // Dipl. Ing. Daniel Bläser

 

Folkwang Universität der Künste

Fachbereich Gestaltung
Strategie & Vision // Gesellschaft in Bewegung

gruppe_mehnert_halb

Prof. Kurt Mehnert // Prof. (stv.) Carolin Schreiber // Dipl. Des. Nina Pillen // Jannes Weber, B.A.

 

Ford Werke GmbH

Team-Ford

Caspar Dirk Hohage (n.a.) // Dr. Roland Krüger (n.a.) // Bruno Alves (Rapid Prototyping Specialist) // Bernd Peter (5-axis NC Team Lead) // Ralph Wessels (Design IT) // Harry Blindert-Gritto (Design Fabrication) // Jörg Schäfer (Design Services Manager)